Thames Valley Shrievalty Awards 2012


Members of Thames Valley Police will be presented with awards by the three High Sheriffs of Berkshire, Buckinghamshire and Oxfordshire next month.

Created in 1981 by the three High Sheriffs, the Shrievalty Merit Award is the most prestigious award to be presented within Thames Valley Police.

The awards give the Force the opportunity to publicly recognise the outstanding and sometimes exceptional work undertaken by members of the organisation. The awards can be awarded to any member of Thames Valley Police staff, including police officers, Police Community Support Officers (PCSOs) and staff.

Nominations for 2012 were of an extremely high standard and, after careful consideration, the Chief Constable decided to make the following awards.

The Special Constabulary Milton Keynes team gave immense support during the week of the London disorder and the subsequent disorder in Milton Keynes. During the disorder there was increased tension and violent disorder broke out. The team assisted by volunteering to cover shifts and support frontline officers when officer numbers were depleted due to the London disorder.

Their dedication and commitment to the LPA is greatly appreciated and helped to restore order and reassurance to the local community.

Members of the Milton Keynes Special Constabulary receiving the award:

S/Ch Insp Nicholas Bignall

A/S Insp Leigh Newell

S/Sgt Samantha Arnold

S/Sgt Paul Mongston

S/Sgt John Betchley

S/Con Daniel Cherry

S/Con Fiona Merritt

S/Con James Allen

S/Con Matthew Tapson

S/Con Nazia Hussain